Change WordPress user roles and capabilities › Forums › How to or FAQ › wp multi site, conditional acces
- This topic has 5 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by
Vladimir.
-
AuthorPosts
-
25/09/2019 at 12:08 #5944
MVES
ParticipantHere is my trouble,
I have a multi site network
Each site of this network is dedicated to one user role.How can i manage to allow one user role to access his site while restrict access to all others (but admin)
Cheers,
26/09/2019 at 04:38 #5946Vladimir
KeymasterHi,
Roles are assigned to users on per site basis. That is any user has permissions for a site A according to a role which you granted to that user at the site A.
26/09/2019 at 08:53 #5947MVES
ParticipantSo i can’t manage all role at one place ?
Like on main panel, create all role, then allow access to dedicated site, disallow others
26/09/2019 at 09:31 #5948Vladimir
KeymasterEvery subsite under WordPress multisite stores its roles separately.
It’s possible to manage all roles at one place – main site. When you go to Network admin->Users->User Role Editor, you work really with roles from the main site. “Update Network” button there allows to replicate all roles from the main site to all other subsites.
If you plan to give permission for user to selected site only you may use WP built-in UI: Network admin->Sites: select site, click ‘Edit’ link, open ‘Users’ tab, add existing or new user, grant him needed role. User will have this role at this site only.
26/09/2019 at 11:55 #5949MVES
ParticipantIsn’t it a way to allow access to one website of the network while dislowing to the others ? Like with a category or page ?
and from main admin.
because if I understand well,
I can create all roles from main admin, then sync network
Can allow on a sub site level from role capabilities,But then if i add a role on main website and update, it delete the role on level website right ?
27/09/2019 at 02:45 #5950Vladimir
KeymasterURE does not offer such way. Every subsite has own list of pages and/or categories. You can restrict access to them on per site – per page/category basis only.
Right, ‘Update Network’ overwrites all roles at subsites with exact copy from the main site. It’s intended for the case when you have identical roles at all subsites. If you plan to have different roles between subsites you should not use ‘Update Network’.
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.