In case you have a free version of User Role Editor installed:
Pro version includes its own copy of a free version (or the core of a User Role Editor). So you should deactivate free version and can remove it before installing of a Pro version.
The only thing that you should remember is that both versions (free and Pro) use the same place to store their settings data.
So if you delete free version via WordPress Plugins Delete link, plugin will delete automatically its settings data.
You will have to configure User Role Editor Pro Settings again after that.
Right decision in this case is to delete free version folder (user-role-editor) via FTP, not via WordPress.
When I write about URE’s settings I mean only options available at the “Settings->User Role Editor” page.
Changes made to the user roles, or users permissions are not revertible. Any updates to the roles or users permissions you made with URE are permanent and do not depend from URE plugin activation/deactivation, deletion.
Don’t want to sound stupid, but I’m assuming then that all the user roles that I created will remain and show up in the pro version with the permissions still intact. And then I can create new user roles as usual with the pro version. Is it just that the ads will be removed? And I appreciate your quick replies.
I confirm that all the user roles that you created will remain and show up in the pro version with the permissions still intact. You can create then new roles as usual with Pro version. Ads will be removed. When you activate add-on, like “Admin menu access” at “Settings->User Role Editor->Additonal Modules” tab you will see at toolbar a new button (e.g. “Admin Menu”) which belongs to that add-on.