User Role Editor 4.18 – new permissions

Starting from version 4.18 User Role Editor introduces new permissions (user capabilities) to manage access to its own functionality. ‘Administrator’ role only had access to the User Role Editor at all older versions. Now it may be any other role, which have right user capabilities included:

User Role Editor custom capabilities

User Role Editor custom capabilities

User Role Editor own user capabilities

User Capability Description Free Pro
ure_create_capabilities Add new user capability
Add new user capability
Yes Yes
ure_create_roles Add new user role
Add new user role
Yes Yes
ure_delete_capabilities Delete unused user capability
Delete unused user capability
Yes Yes
ure_delete_roles Delete unused user roles
Delete unused user role
Yes Yes
ure_edit_roles General access to the User Role Editor (Menu “Users – User Role Editor”)
User Role Editor
Yes Yes
ure_manage_options Access to the User Role Editor options page (Menu “Settings – User Role Editor”)
User Role Editor options page
Yes Yes
ure_reset_roles Reset roles to their default state as just after fresh WordPress installation
Reset roles to default state
Yes Yes
ure_admin_menu_access Allows to use Admin menu access add-on
Admin menu access
No Yes
ure_edit_posts_access Allows to use Edit posts access add-on No Yes
ure_export_roles Export roles to a file at your local disk
Export roles
No Yes
ure_import_roles Import roles from earlier exported file
Import roles
No Yes
ure_other_roles_access Allows to use Other roles access add-on
Other roles access
No Yes
ure_plugins_activation_access Allows to use Plugins activation access add-on
Widgets access
No Yes
ure_view_posts_access Allows to use Content View Restrictions meta-box
View posts access
No Yes
ure_widgets_access Allows to use Widgets access add-on
Widgets access
No Yes