Yes, something changes when I deactivate URE. I can see the Users when logged in as an administrator with URE deactivated. I can also still see Users when logged in as Super Administrator when URE is deactivated.
I have “Other role access” add-on active with no restrictions set.
I think one of your last 2 updates of your free plugin resulted in this issue. We then purchased the Pro Personal. We are running WordPress 4.4.3. Any WP updates cause issues with our theme. We have been in the process of getting the theme updated so we can update WP. Do you have a previous version of your plugin that we might try until we get our theme and WP updated?
I also recorded a 2 minute Camtasia video to show you my settings and User capabilities if you would be interested in seeing it.
Or…do you ever do you ever screenshare and troubleshoot?