Change WordPress user roles and capabilities Forums Bug Reports Can't change settings of other plugin as admin

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    fuseo
    Participant

I’m using a plugin called ‘Booked’ for appointments. Yesterday I was configuring and testing the plugin, and everything worked fine. Today I was going to continue my work, but I can’t access the settings menu of the plugin. I get the “you are not allowed to edit…” message, even though I’m an admin.

I checked the User Role Editor for admin permissions and all the boxes for this plugin are checked.

Vladimir
    Keymaster

Check if your user was granted ‘administrator’ role not a copy with other role ID.
    Check if there are any unchecked capabilities at your ‘administrator’ role. I mean that administrator role should have all capabilities checked.

fuseo
    Participant

What do you mean with “Check if your user was granted ‘administrator’ role not a copy with other role ID?” Where can I check this?

What’s weird is that I could access everything yesterday, but can’t today (while I didn’t change any user roles).

Vladimir
    Keymaster

Open “Users->User Role Editor”, select ‘Administrator’ role from the drop-down list at the top and look if a value at the circle parenthesis to the right from the “Administrator” role is “administrator”. Some plugins check access via current_user_can(‘administrator’), where ‘administrator’ is a role ID, not a role name.

fuseo
    Participant

Do you mean the (administrator)?
    sqdfq

The plugin I talked about is labelled as ‘Appointments’ in the screenshot above. As you can see, all 11 boxes are checked.

Vladimir
    Keymaster

Yes, I mean exactly this: ‘administrator’. So check that your user has exactly this role – via “Users” list.