Tagged: 

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    [email protected]
    Participant

I want members to be able to add members to groups, delete forum posts and delete members to group. I don’t want them to have access to plugins/admin stuff. How should I setup that access?

Vladimir
    Keymaster

BuddyPress requires ‘manage_options’ capability in order a user has access to the “Groups” and “Activity” menu items. So we have to grant to a role at least the ‘read’ and ‘manage_options’ user capabilities to allow it the access to the “Groups” at wp-admin.

It’s possible to block “Settings” and other admin menu items protected by the same ‘manage_options” capability, using User Role Editor Pro add-on “Admin Menu Access

[email protected]
    Participant

I am sorry, I am a bit new to your plugin. So your advice is to select: read, manage_options. But what do I do to block settings by manage_options?

Vladimir
    Keymaster

I recommend to use “Admin menu access” add-on for this purpose. There is a link to the post with example at the end of that post.

[email protected]
    Participant

Ok great. It looks like everything is working for a new user I created but they can’t add friends in order to add them to a group. What would I check to make that possible or do I have to set something up differently to get them to be able to add people to groups?

Thanks

Vladimir
    Keymaster

Do you mean ‘add user’ when ask about ‘add friend’?
    If ‘Yes’, then add ‘list_users’, ‘edit_users’ capabilities to this user role.

[email protected]
    Participant

Looks like things are working except the adding people to the group. How can this be done in Buddypress without admin rights?

Vladimir
    Keymaster

‘manage_options’ is enough in my case to add the existing user to a group.
    This is a video how such user adds a new user to a group.
    This is a video how I created such role and user: